Dimly lit room with a dark wood sideboard holding a vase of foliage, a shallow bowl and a small round vessel, a framed landscape painting above it, and a curtained window showing a sunset sky at right.

What Is Not Covered Under Coverage a of a Homeowners Policy?

Land, flood and earthquake damage, wear and tear, and anything your policy lists as excluded, like certain water or pest damage.

Compare my rates

Free to compare

A single-story cape-style house with light green horizontal siding, black shutters, a brick chimney, and an attached single-car garage, fronted by a mowed lawn, flowering shrubs, a concrete walkway and driveway, under a blue sky with scattered clouds.

Your declarations page lists the dwelling limit, but the policy form lists what Coverage A won't pay even when the house is damaged. Land shifting or settling is one adjusters cite often, since Coverage A rebuilds the structure, not the ground under it. A denial for flood or earthquake usually means a separate policy was needed, not a gap in this one. Gradual damage, like a roof that failed from age rather than a storm, falls under wear and tear, which no homeowners policy covers. Read the exclusions section before you argue the dollar amount.

A dimly lit living room at night with a lit table lamp beside a sofa, a wooden coffee table holding a bowl and books, a potted plant at right, and a lamp-lit dining area visible through a doorway.

If Coverage A denies part of a claim or pays less than rebuilding costs, the dwelling limit on another policy might handle the same risk differently. Exclusions for land, pest damage, or gradual wear are standard, but how insurers define and document them varies enough to matter when a payout falls short. Comparing policies now shows what a different insurer would have covered before the next claim, not after.

What about damage that's partly storm and partly something else?

A tree falls and the roof gives way where it was already weak. Wind drives rain into a house because flashing had been failing for years. These situations come up more than people expect, and the adjuster has to decide how much of the damage came from the covered event and how much was already there. Insurers call this anti-concurrent causation. Most policies have language that lets them deny the whole claim, or the damaged portion, if an excluded cause contributed to the loss alongside a covered one. It is worth finding that clause in your policy, because it explains a lot of partial denials that otherwise look arbitrary.

The adjuster's report usually separates the two causes, sometimes with photos marked to show old staining, rust, or deterioration next to the fresh damage. If you think that split is wrong, ask for the specific basis for it. Was it something visible at the time of the inspection, or an assumption based on the age of the roof or siding? You're entitled to see what the determination was built on, and sometimes it rests on less than it sounds like.

A second opinion carries weight here. A roofer or contractor who inspects the damage can write up what they see, including whether the failure looks consistent with the storm date or predates it. This doesn't override the adjuster's findings automatically, but it gives you something concrete to put against theirs, especially if their report is thin on specifics. Public adjusters do this work for a cut of the claim. That cost is usually worth it only when the disputed amount is large.

You still have the right to dispute an exclusion that's being applied too broadly. That goes through the insurer's internal appeal process first, and after that, through your state's insurance department or an independent appraisal clause if your policy has one. None of this changes what Coverage A excludes by design. It only matters when the cause of damage, not the exclusion itself, is what's being argued.

Two-story gray clapboard house with cream trim, a covered front porch with columns, a dark wood front door, and a concrete walkway bordered by hydrangeas and shrubs.

What if the adjuster says only part of the damage is covered?

A roof that was already weak gives out when a tree hits it. Wind-driven rain gets in through flashing that had been failing for years. These mixed situations come up constantly, and the adjuster's job is to decide how much of the damage traces back to the covered event and how much was there already. The industry term for the clause that lets insurers split or deny a claim on this basis is anti-concurrent causation. It's worth finding that language in your policy, because it explains a lot of partial payouts and denials that otherwise look like the adjuster just picked a number.

The adjuster's report should show how they got to that split. Often it includes photos marked up to separate old staining, rust, or wear from the fresh damage caused by the storm or the fallen tree. If the breakdown looks off to you, ask what it's based on. Was there something visible at the inspection, or did they estimate the roof's condition from its age and assume deterioration that wasn't actually documented? You're entitled to ask for the reasoning, not just the number, and sometimes the reasoning is thinner than the report makes it sound.

A second opinion from a roofer or contractor can help here. Someone who inspects the damage independently can say whether what they see is consistent with the date of the storm or looks like it predates it. That doesn't override the adjuster's conclusion by itself, but it gives you something specific to set against their report, especially useful when their documentation is short on detail. Public adjusters handle this kind of dispute for a percentage of the claim, and that cost tends to make sense only when the disputed amount is large enough to justify it.

You can still challenge a split or an exclusion that seems to be applied too broadly. That starts with the insurer's internal appeal process, and if that doesn't resolve it, your state's insurance department or an appraisal clause in your policy, if it has one, is the next step. None of this changes what Coverage A excludes on its face. It matters when the argument is about what caused the damage, not about whether the exclusion itself exists.

A dimly lit home study at dusk with a lit desk lamp on a wooden desk by a window, a wooden chair, potted plants, and tall bookshelves in shadow.

Before you decide anything

Pull your policy's exclusions section and read what it says about your specific damage, not just the dollar figure on the adjuster's report. If the cause is disputed, ask what the denial or split is based on.

More articles